What can we help you with?

Would you like to set Gatton as your preferred campus?

Olympic and Commonwealth Games gold medallist swimmer Lakeisha Patterson and Australian Touch Football representative Justin Cridland have been named The University of Queensland’s Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year.

2019 UQ Club & Sports Awards
L-R: Bryan Pryde (UQ Sport - CEO), Justin Cridland, Lakeisha Patterson, & Emily Burrows (UQ Sport Academy - Personal Development Advisor)

The UQ Sporting Scholarship recipients were honoured at the 2019 UQ Club and Sports Awards, which recognise excellence in sport and contribution to university life.

Bachelor of Architectural Design student Lakeisha Patterson joins Olympic swimming greats Susie O’Neill (1996) and Melanie Schlanger (2007 & 2008) on the honour roll of UQ Sportswoman of the Year winners.

In 2018, Patterson won two Commonwealth Games gold medals, set four para swimming world records, and claimed UniSport Australia’s Most Outstanding Performance by an Athlete with a Disability Award.

Patterson said support from UQ contributed to a successful year in and out of the pool.

“It’s only my second year at UQ and it’s humbling to receive so much support and acknowledgment from the University,” Patterson said.

“I really value my education and, with UQ’s support, I have been able to manage being a student-athlete and set myself up for future success.

“It really is a massive honour to be named UQ Sportswoman of the Year. To be considered among some of UQ’s greats will really be a memorable achievement.”

Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours) student Justin Cridland is the first touch football player to receive the UQ Sportsman of the Year honour.

He was a member of Australia’s winning Mixed Touch team at the 2018 Trans-Tasman Championships, won a National Touch League Elite Eight Men’s title with the Queensland Cowboys, and captained UQ’s Mixed Touch team to a gold medal at UniSport Nationals Div 1.

He also received UQ’s All-Rounder of the Year honour for a second-consecutive year for his excellence in both academics and sport.

Cridland said it was an honour to receive both awards.

“I am very appreciative of the support UQ provides in allowing me to be flexible with my studies around busy periods with my touch football commitments,” Cridland said.

“The UQ Rebels Touch Club has helped me tremendously since moving to Brisbane, with a number of club officials playing a large role in my development and continuing success.”

The UQ Judo Club received the prestigious $5000 Hulbert Bursary – awarded for outstanding achievement, innovation and best practice in club management.

In 2018, the Club grew its membership by 20 per cent, won four gold medals at the Oceania Judo Championships, and conducted a female-only self-defence seminar to assist and raise funds for female victims of domestic violence.

The UQ Athletics Club won the President’s Cup – awarded for exceptional event competition performance – after claiming champion honours in both Men’s and Women’s competitions at last year’s UniSport Nationals Div 1 event.

UQ Hockey’s Matthew Bradley was awarded Club Coach of the Year after guiding UQ’s Women’s Division 1 team to its first premiership in the Club’s 106-year history.

UniSport Australia Chief Executive Officer Mark Sinderberry presented UQ Nationals captains Michaela Shuttleworth and Daniel Parnell with trophies and pennants to recognise the University as the 2018 Nationals Div 1 Overall Champions, and winners of the Jodie Martin Trophy Trophy (North Region Champion).

2019 UQ Club and Sports Awards – Winners

  • Sportswoman of the Year: Lakeisha Patterson (Swimming)
  • Sportsman of the Year: Justin Cridland (Touch Football)
  • Club All-Rounder of the Year: Justin Cridland (UQ Touch Football Club)
  • Hulbert Bursary: UQ Judo Club
  • President’s Cup: UQ Athletics Club
  • Club Coach of the Year: Matthew Bradley (UQ Hockey Club)
  • Club Administrator of the Year: Michelle Lorberg (UQ Cricket Club)
  • Club Volunteer of the Year: Joanne Baulch (UQ Tennis Club)
  • Club Service Award: Caitlin Sargent-Jones (UQ Athletics Club); Howard Hickey (UQ Rugby Football Club); Geoff Teys (UQ Cricket Club)

Media: Jamie Mitchell, UQ Sport, JamieM@uqsport.com.au, +61 423 785 752.