What can we help you with?

Would you like to set Gatton as your preferred campus?

The University of Queensland has secured its third medal of the 2019 Aon Uni 7s Series after finishing runners-up at Round 3 in Adelaide.

Team UQ beat University of Technology Sydney (27-12), Bond University (17-12), University of New England (38-0), University of Canberra (25-5), and Griffith University (22-12) to set up a gold medal match with The University of Sydney.

Sydney claimed the final 19-5 to leave UQ with its second silver medal of the series.

Shenae Ciesiolka and Pleuni Kievit led UQ’s scoring over the two-day event, crossing for seven tries each.

2019 Uni 7s Series - Terri-Anne Egan
UQ's Terri-Anne Egan (Image: Rugby Australia & Karen Watson)

UQ utility Terri-Anne Egan said that the team is proud of its efforts in Adelaide.

“We worked on building on each game and we were pleased with of our performances, especially in the Semi-Final against Griffith,” Egan said.

“For that game we got around each other and we had a loud and dominant presence on the field and sideline which set the tone and standard of that game.

“We were obviously a bit disappointed in the final against Sydney, and there are a few things that we will take away and work really hard on to come back stronger for the next round.”

UQ head into the season finale in Canberra (26-27 October) with a six point lead (56 points) over both Griffith University and The University of Sydney (50 points).

UQ can secure its second Uni 7s title if it places fourth or better in Canberra.

To win the series overall, Sydney or Griffith must claim victory in the final round and have UQ miss out on a place in the Semi-Finals.

2019 Aon Uni 7s Series- Round 3 Results

Pool B:
UQ dft. University of Technology Sydney (27-12)
UQ dft. Bond University (17-12)

UQ dft. University of New England (38-0)
UQ dft. University of Canberra (25-5)

UQ dft. Griffith University (22-12)

Gold Medal Match:
The University of Sydney dft. UQ (19-5)

Series Standings

1) The University of Queensland (56 points)
2) Griffith University (50 points)
3) The University of Sydney (50 points)
4) University of Canberra (38 points)
5) University of Technology Sydney (36 points)
6) The University of Adelaide (36 points)
7) Bond University (22 points)
8) The University of Melbourne (18 points)
9) The University of Western Australia (14 points)
10) University of New England (10 points)

2019 Aon Uni 7s Series- Fixtures
Round 4 – University of Canberra, Canberra (26-27 October)

Media: Jamie Mitchell, UQ Sport, JamieM@uqsport.com.au, 0423 785 752; Reg Tayler, UQ Rugby Football Club, regtayler@uqrugbyclub.com, 0407 302 911.