What can we help you with?

Would you like to set Gatton as your preferred campus?

The University of Queensland will be out to extend its Aon Uni 7s Series winning streak when it hosts Round 3 at the UQ Sport Athletics Centre in St Lucia this weekend, 16 and 17 September.

Team UQ celebrate winning Round of the Aon Uni 7s Series (Credit: ARU Media/Karen Watson)

Team UQ has stretched its unbeaten run after taking out 10 matches in the opening two rounds of the series.

In a repeat of the gold medal match from the opening round in Tasmania, UQ defeated Bond University (22-17) in a thrilling final to Round 2.

Bond led 17-15 in the dying stages of the match before Dutch international Bodil van Wijnbergen scored after the final siren to secure victory for UQ.

Team UQ’s gold medal success followed wins over host Macquarie University (10-7), Griffith University (21-10), University of Tasmania (28-5), and University of New England (22-15).

The results from the opening two rounds have Team UQ claiming a maximum of 40 competition points.

UQ coach Reg Tayler said he was delighted with his team’s form.

“We are really pleased with our performances so far and will look to continue our unbeaten run this weekend,” Tayler said.

“The competition is getting harder and teams will be out to knock us off our perch, so we need all the support we can get.”

Team UQ have made two changes to the squad with Erica Fowler and Kobe Nona named for this weekend’s home round, hosted by the UQ Rugby Club.

UQ will play Pool A rivals University of Adelaide (9:20am), University of Tasmania (11:40am) and Macquarie University (2:40pm) on Saturday 16 September, with Semi-Finals to kick-off Sunday from 8:40am.

All matches will be streamed live on rugby.com.au’s website and Facebook pages.

The event will also feature a three-day UQ Rugby 7s competition (15-17 September), with teams from UQ Colleges and South East Queensland rugby clubs.

Brisbane City will host unbeaten Canberra Vikings in the National Rugby Championship (NRC), with the match to kick-off at 1pm on Sunday 17 September.

The University of Queensland – Aon Uni 7s Series team (Round 3):

1. Lily Dick

2. Jannicke IJdens (VC)

3. Grace Kaihau

4. Emma Sykes

5. Kobe Nona

6. Marikki Watego

7. Mackenzie Sadler (C)

8. Bodil Van Wijnbergen

9. Vetaronnica Tafito Fomai

10. Erica Fowler

11. Emilee Cherry

12. Georgia Hannaway

Series Ladder (after Round 2): 

1st – The University of Queensland (40 points)
2nd – Bond University (36 points)
3rd – Griffith University (30 points)
4th – Macquarie University (30 points)
5th – University of New England (20 points)
6th – University of Adelaide (20 points)
7th – University of Canberra (20 points)
8th – University of Tasmania (12 points)

Series Fixtures:  

Round 3 – The University of Queensland, UQ Sport Athletics Centre, 16-17 September
Round 4 – Bond University, Gold Coast, 29-30 September

Media: Jamie Mitchell, UQ Sport, JamieM@uqsport.com.au, 0423 785 752.